Closing Time: Your Guide to the 2012 London Olympics Closing Ceremonies

You don’t want to say goodbye any more than I do, but all good things do indeed come to an end. But luckily, in a last-ditch effort to feed our insatiable need for Olympic spirit and international festive cultural interaction, there will be, as always, the Closing Ceremonies.

This year, the theme for London’s closing ceremonies will be “A Symphony of British Music,” and one has to wonder if icons like Elton John, The Rolling Stones or Ringo Starr – all missing from the Opening Ceremony – will make appearances here. One thing we DO know – the Spice Girls are back in full effect!

Speculation is running abound, but the band Muse and George Michael have confirmed they will participate, according to The Washington Times. Rumors also have Monty Python’s Eric Idle participating, which would make me really happy, and Adele is also a speculative participant. We shall see!

The Closing Ceremony begins LIVE at 4 p.m. ET (3 p.m. CT, 1 p.m. Pacific). The ceremony will be streamed live from NBCOlympics.com at those times, so if you can’t wait, check them out then, likely with the British broadcasts. NBC will indeed air the event in tape delay beginning at 7 p.m. ET and 6 p.m. CT, but the event won’t begin for Pacific audiences until 7 p.m. Pacific time. That’s an 8-hour wait for you West Coasters.

Refer here for a way to stream the events live.

Prepare to bid London goodbye!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s